Enable contrast version

Tutor profile: Jessie B.

Jessie B.
PhD student, microbiology lab teacher, math tutor at campus tutoring center
Tutor Satisfaction Guarantee


About Jessie

About Jessie
I am 21 years old and currently in my 4th year of my PhD in Microbiology and Cell Science at the University of Florida. I graduated with my bachelor's in Biological Sciences and a minor in French at the age of 17. I have a heavy science and math background and have incorporated teaching into every stage of my education. I believe I have a unique perspective on teaching due to my attending Montessori school from first through eighth grade. There, the philosophy is no traditional "teachers" or lectures but rather students freely helping each...

Teaching Experience

Teaching Experience
In Montessori school, teaching was incorporated into my education every day for eight years. I then went from eighth grade right into college while I worked as a freelance tutor for middle and high schoolers, a volunteer teacher's assistant at a French immersion elementary school, and a tutor at the Math Learning Center at Florida Atlantic University. There, I was teaching college students calculus when I was 15 and 16. When I started my PhD at age 17, I taught two microbiology lab courses per semester. I now do research full time where I also...
University of Florida
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
2016 - 2021
Florida Atlantic University
Biological Sciences
Bachelor's Degree
2012 - 2016

Work Experience

Work Experience
University of Florida, Graduate research assistant
2016 - Present
Graduate researcher in microbiology lab
University of Florida, Teacher of undergraduate microbiology lab courses
2016 - 2017
I designed the experiments for each week, lectured for 20-30 minutes, performed a demo, and then assisted the 36 students in carrying out the experiment and completing a lab report.
Florida Atlantic University, Math Learning Center
2014 - 2015
Tutoring center on campus where undergraduates come for help in any math class. I specialized in calculus, but would also cover less advanced subjects if needed.
Self employed, Freelance tutor
2013 - 2015
One-on-one tutoring sessions with middle school and high school students, mostly found through connections from my old school. Primarily math, but also science, English, French, and music (piano and recorder).

Contact tutor

Send a message explaining your
needs and Jessie will reply soon.
Contact Jessie

Request lesson

Ready now? Request a lesson.
Start Lesson


What is a lesson?
A lesson is virtual lesson space on our platform where you and a tutor can communicate. You'll have the option to communicate using video/audio as well as text chat. You can also upload documents, edit papers in real time and use our cutting-edge virtual whiteboard.
How do I begin a lesson?
If the tutor is currently online, you can click the "Start Lesson" button above. If they are offline, you can always send them a message to schedule a lesson.
Who are TutorMe tutors?
Many of our tutors are current college students or recent graduates of top-tier universities like MIT, Harvard and USC. TutorMe has thousands of top-quality tutors available to work with you.