Enable contrast version

Tutor profile: Makayla W.

Inactive
Makayla W.
Education-oriented, with experience in Appalachia and abroad
Tutor Satisfaction Guarantee

Bio

About Makayla

About Makayla
I have a bachelor's in History and Sociology with honors, and a master's in Latin American Studies with a focus on development practice. I have worked for nonprofits and universities. I love learning, and helping others to learn.

Teaching Experience

Teaching Experience
I worked as a tutor for the Buck Harless Student Athlete Center of Marshall University during undergrad. I also assisted a university English language class while volunteering for Manna Project International in Ecuador.
Education
Ohio University
Latin American Studies
Master's Degree
2017 - 2019
Marshall University
Sociology
Bachelor's Degree
2012 - 2015
Marshall University
History
Bachelor's Degree
2012 - 2015

Work Experience

Work Experience
Gallia-Meigs Community Action Agency, Case Manager I/II
2016 - 2020
I worked on a variety of programs including the work experience program in which I helped those receiving food and cash assistance to meet their monthly work hour requirements, summer youth program in which I coordinated visits for local youth to meet with local employers, and storm cleanup program in which we employed dislocated workers. I served on an Adult Basic and Literacy Education Advisory Committee at the local career center. I organized presentations given to new participants in the Work Experience Program. We reported monthly data...
Ohio University, Graduate Assistant
2017 - 2019
I worked for the Center for International Studies, Latin American Studies Program while pursing my master's. I managed digital files for the program including student information, scheduled department events, created and distributed advertisements for events using Publisher, communicated with faculty and students about updates and events through email, and contacted international organizations to coordinate student visits in DC and NYC.
Manna Project International, Summer Intern
2018 - 2018
This was a voluntary internship in the Chillos Valley, Ecuador. I assisted university English classes, assisted disabled individuals in the classroom with partner organization, developed an Excel spreadsheet for evaluating demographic data, and researched grant opportunities.
Marshall University, Tutor
2014 - 2015
I helped students meet university and class guidelines on assignments, aided students that speak English as a second language, provided advice on time management and study habits, and offered support and encouragement to students for their academic success.

Contact tutor

Send a message explaining your
needs and Makayla will reply soon.
Contact Makayla

Request lesson

Ready now? Request a lesson.
Start Lesson

FAQs

What is a lesson?
A lesson is virtual lesson space on our platform where you and a tutor can communicate. You'll have the option to communicate using video/audio as well as text chat. You can also upload documents, edit papers in real time and use our cutting-edge virtual whiteboard.
How do I begin a lesson?
If the tutor is currently online, you can click the "Start Lesson" button above. If they are offline, you can always send them a message to schedule a lesson.
Who are TutorMe tutors?
Many of our tutors are current college students or recent graduates of top-tier universities like MIT, Harvard and USC. TutorMe has thousands of top-quality tutors available to work with you.
BEST IN CLASS SINCE 2015
TutorMe homepage
Made in California by Zovio
© 2013 - 2021 TutorMe, LLC
High Contrast Mode
On
Off