Enable contrast version

Tutor profile: Shivani M.

Inactive
Shivani M.
Tutoring Kids Since 2015
Tutor Satisfaction Guarantee

Bio

About Shivani

About Shivani
I am 23 years who recently graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill and am currently taking a gap year before attending Optometry school.

Teaching Experience

Teaching Experience
I have been tutoring kids of all ages, including my peers, ever since I was 16 years old. I started my first tutoring job at Kumon during high school and later worked as a Teaching Assistant during college for numerous college-level courses, like Chemistry, Biology, French, and Computer Science. I also worked at a Science Summer Camp as a counselor/educator where I engaged kids from K-8th grades in interactive STEM-focused activities.
Education
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Public Health
Bachelor's Degree
2017 - 2021

Work Experience

Work Experience
UNC CH Biology Department, Biology Practical Lab Intern
2017 - 2020
I served as a teaching apprentice to the main instructor through preparation, demonstration, and assistance of biological lab procedures and experiments. I became comfortable with organismal dissections, including cat, fetal pig, frog, sheep, squid, and cow. I assisted with complex practical lab methods, including spectroscopy, microscopy, liquid and gas chromatography, and electrochemistry. I aided students with lab assignments and experiments and offered extra help outside of the lab section.
Morehead Planetarium and Science Center, Science Summer Camp Counselor
2016 - 2019
During summer breaks, I engaged children from K-8th grade with interactive STEM-focused activities and crafts. As an educator, I improved my teaching skills to introduce new scientific topics in a more fun and comprehensible way for kids. My personal goal was to teach my kids at least one scientific fun fact a day. Most of this job comprised of being creative and fair when it came to resolving arguments and conflicts between campers.
UNC CH Learning Center, Learning Center Peer Tutor
2017 - 2018
I tutored my peers in various levels of college courses in Chemistry, Biology, French, and Computer Science. Haven taken the courses myself, I was able to offer insight and resources that helped me be successful through the common challenges of the course. Also, this experience tested my understanding of the concepts by presenting them in different ways to help them click for different learning and study styles.
Kumon, Kumon Tutor
2015 - 2017
I tutored kids from ages 4 to 16 with multiple digit addition, subtraction, division, multiplication, fraction operations, algebra, trigonometry, various difficulty levels of reading comprehension, and writing exercises.

Contact tutor

Send a message explaining your
needs and Shivani will reply soon.
Contact Shivani

Request lesson

Ready now? Request a lesson.
Start Lesson

FAQs

What is a lesson?
A lesson is virtual lesson space on our platform where you and a tutor can communicate. You'll have the option to communicate using video/audio as well as text chat. You can also upload documents, edit papers in real time and use our cutting-edge virtual whiteboard.
How do I begin a lesson?
If the tutor is currently online, you can click the "Start Lesson" button above. If they are offline, you can always send them a message to schedule a lesson.
Who are TutorMe tutors?
Many of our tutors are current college students or recent graduates of top-tier universities like MIT, Harvard and USC. TutorMe has thousands of top-quality tutors available to work with you.
BEST IN CLASS SINCE 2015
TutorMe homepage
Made in California by Zovio
© 2013 - 2021 TutorMe, LLC
High Contrast Mode
On
Off