Enable contrast version

Tutor profile: Justis W.

Inactive
Justis W.
Teacher for 2 years, Writing Tutor for 2 years
Tutor Satisfaction Guarantee

Bio

About Justis

About Justis
Hello! I am a worship pastor, which means I love music! However, the art of writing has always captivated me just as much. In college, I minored in Creative Writing and majored in Biochemistry. Then, after college I taught for two years in an inner-city school in Macon, Ga. I am fully confident in my teaching and writing abilities and hope to help others become confident in theirs!

Teaching Experience

Teaching Experience
In high school, I worked at an Afterschool and summer camp program where I tutored K-9th grade students with their school work. In college, I was selected as a specialized writing tutors who not only helped my fellow college students with their essays but attended their classes with them to better understand the course/literary materials. Then lastly, after graduating college, I worked for two years in an inner-city Title I elementary school teacher.
Education
Mercer University
Biochemistry
Bachelor's Degree
2013 - 2017

Work Experience

Work Experience
Good Stories for Kids, Children's Book Writer and Blogger
2020 - Present
- Traffic 5,350 unique visitors with over 9,200 page views in one year. - Write, illustrate, and animate children’s books as a resource for parents and teachers. - Stories present “big” topics like prejudice, faith, and elementary math in kid-friendly manner. - Facilitate engaging workshop of educational findings and ideas at university conferences. - Craft essay-form articles for educating parents and teachers.
Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Teacher
2018 - 2020
- Lead instructor for two third-grade math and science classes of 25 students each. - Used innovative approaches to increase student learning retention. - Appointed by administration to serve as school’s Technology Leader; provide technical advice and assistance to 56 faculty members in Microsoft Office Suite and SMART Lab Technology. - Teaching activities associated with improvements in student math standardized scores by average of 45% from previous year.
Mercer University, Writing Tutor and Preceptor
2014 - 2017
- Scheduled and managed individual writing tutoring sessions with 20+ college students a week. - Edited and proofread 10 to 20 academic essays every two weeks. - Demonstrated attention to fine details.
3 O'clock Rock, Afterschool/Summer Camp Counselor
2010 - 2013
- Tutored kids ages 4 to 15 in all academic subjects - Supervised educational and recreational activities for age ranges: 4-6, 7-9, 10-13, 14-15

Contact tutor

Send a message explaining your
needs and Justis will reply soon.
Contact Justis

Request lesson

Ready now? Request a lesson.
Start Lesson

FAQs

What is a lesson?
A lesson is virtual lesson space on our platform where you and a tutor can communicate. You'll have the option to communicate using video/audio as well as text chat. You can also upload documents, edit papers in real time and use our cutting-edge virtual whiteboard.
How do I begin a lesson?
If the tutor is currently online, you can click the "Start Lesson" button above. If they are offline, you can always send them a message to schedule a lesson.
Who are TutorMe tutors?
Many of our tutors are current college students or recent graduates of top-tier universities like MIT, Harvard and USC. TutorMe has thousands of top-quality tutors available to work with you.
BEST IN CLASS SINCE 2015
TutorMe homepage
Made in California by Zovio
© 2013 - 2021 TutorMe, LLC
High Contrast Mode
On
Off